Vegan Alcohol

Vegan Alcohol

There are plenty of vegan-friendly drinks on the off-license shelves and the number is growing every day. Many supermarkets – including Marks and Spencer and Tesco – clearly label their vegetarian and vegan wines.

And with the help of Barnivore.com, finding a vegan tipple has never been easier!

Why is some alcohol not considered vegan?

Alcohol does not usually contain typical animal ingredients like milk or cream (other than luxury brands like Baileys), but you’d be surprised! However, it’s not always the ingredients you have to watch out for. Isinglass is a substance obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish and it is used to filter beers and wines. As this process is done using something derived from an animal, it is not vegan, and so beverages filtered in this way are not vegan either.

Here’s a handy list of drinks that are vegan-friendly:

Beers and Ciders

Peroni

Budweiser

Corona

Heineken (Note: Cute Hoor is not vegan)

Orchard Thieves

Magners Pear

Bulmers Berry

Outcider by Bulmers

Guinness

Hop House 13

Erdinger

Carlsberg

Carling Cider Apple

Coors

Amstel

Cobra

Liquor 

Smirnoff Vodka

Powers

Jameson

Hennessy Cognac

Gordon’s Gin

Beefeater Gin

Captain Morgan

Bushmills

Archers Peach Schnapps

Jägermeister

Tia Maria

Bacardi